The Forensic Psychologist Who Loved Me

This is for you, “S”…THANK YOU :)

It can be quite intimidating to date someone with a Mensa high IQ.

It can also be quite challenging, too…but, also fun.

There’s so very much to say here and I’m not even sure “where” to start.

Such an accomplished man and yet, also quite insecure, too…and, vulnerable.

You helped me understand myself better, and in the process, also understand other people better too. You reminded me of my own inherent Romanticism.

And, you appreciated and valued that about me. You “courted” me as if we were somehow magically transported back into the 19th century and it was wonderful. Truly. What do I mean by “courted me?” Well, such things as:

Hand made scones. Mailed “pop up” cards with beautiful penmanship, closely resembling calligraphy, expressing love sentiments to me. And to think that it all began with the use of the word “curate” by me. As in: at the time when I had an online dating profile and I used the word “curate” to describe how I was “curating and crafting my life aesthetically” — you messaged me to say:

“How incredible is it to meet someone such as yourself who would describe her life in this way? You are a kindred spirit. I want to meet you ASAP, please.”

And so, we did meet…and we talked (and talked) and laughed (and laughed). We also ate a tremendous amount of delicious sushi as you and your partner in…

--

--

An Ethereal Girl in a Material World

Former ballet dancer. Longtime goth girl. Instagram: ethereal_girl_material_world_